Return to Headlines

Dylan Clarke Named Academic All Star

Franklin Community High School senior, Dylan Clarke, was one of 40 high school seniors from Indiana to be named a 2020 Indiana Academic All-Star, a program of the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP).

The students were selected from a field of 280 outstanding nominees from the state’s private and public accredited schools. Academic All-Star distinction recognizes seniors who excel in the classroom first and foremost, but who also are actively involved in their schools and communities, and take on leadership roles in those activities. The program is produced by the Indiana Association of School Principals, with support provided by DePauw University, Indiana University Bloomington, and Purdue University, along with corporate partner Herff Jones.

"We are proud of Dylan for being named an Indiana Academic All-Star," FCHS Principal Steve Ahaus said. "He has earned this recognition through high academic achievement, hard work, and tremendous character."

Each public and private high school accredited by the Indiana Department of Education may nominate one senior for consideration as an Indiana Academic All-Star. From these nominees, a selection committee chose the Regional winners (representing five regions in Indiana) and the 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars.

Selection of the school’s nominee is based upon the following considerations:

  • A mathematical formula that combines the SAT or ACT composite score and the seven-semester grade-point average; and
  • Academic achievements and honors, academic courses and academic extracurricular activities.
  • Other extracurricular activities, community service, and leadership qualities.