Return to Headlines

Deb Brown-Nally and Jeff Mercer Receive the Circle of Corydon Award

Representative John Young presented Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Deb Brown-Nally and Executive Director of Finance Jeff Mercer The Circle of Corydon award at the May Board of School Trustees meeting. 

Both Brown-Nally and Mercer will retire at the conclusion of this school year.  They have been pillars of both the school community and community at large.  Brown-Nally has had an outstanding 33-year long career as a teacher, counselor, coach, and principal before beginning her role as a central office administrator.  "Deb always has the most important Guiding Principle for FCS at the forefront: Individual Student Growth,” Dr. David Clendening said.  “Examples of her leadership are evident throughout our district, from transforming the climate and culture at a high poverty elementary school to increasing instructional pedagogy and best practice in the classroom. Deb is a true visionary and is leaving an indelible mark on our district."

Mercer began his career at FCS in 1996, where he first served as a high school business teacher before joining the administrative team in 2001. While an administrator, he led a group of community leaders, educators, students, and business professionals to establish Community Involvement in Learning, Inc. a nonprofit corporation designed to increase community engagement in student success through internships and other real-world programs and experiences. In 2008, Mercer was promoted to Executive Director of Finance.  “Through Jeff’s keen understanding of school finance and systems thinking, he created a solid foundation that helped grow our schools to new heights.” Dr. David Clendening said. “FCS demonstrated stewardship, high academic achievement, and community partnerships during his tenure. In addition to his CFO responsibilities, Jeff led system change thinking with the community of Franklin. His strengths and passion for his job created a win-win for FCS."

Governor Holcomb created the Circle of Corydon as a unique way of honoring Hoosiers together with a member of the Indiana General Assembly and, of the recognitions issued by the Governor, this is the only one bestowed and signed jointly by members of both the executive and legislative branches of government. The Circle of Corydon is meant for those who, like our State’s founders, have made remarkable contributions to the betterment of Indiana and its people, and have demonstrated in life and in service the qualities exemplified by our State’s greatest citizens.


Deb Brown Nally and Jeff Mercer hold Circle of Corydon awards