Return to Headlines

Katie Smith Named 2023 State Elementary Principal of the Year

Franklin Community Schools is proud to announce that Katie Smith was named Indiana Association of School Principals Elementary Principal of the Year. 

Katie Smith has been the principal at Union Elementary since 2017. Prior to that, she served as principal at Northwood Elementary for seven years. She is also the Director of Cub Academy Preschool.  

“The hallmark of any school is having a great principal. Katie is the consummate professional in this area,” Superintendent Dr. David Clendening said. “She leads with passion, love, and vision and is most deserving of this honor.”

Katie was chosen as the District 9 Elementary Principal of the Year this past May. 

District Elementary School Principals of the Year are elected by their peers. One principal is honored from each of the 12 districts.  From these 12 District Elementary School Principal winners, Katie was chosen as the 2023 State Elementary School Principal of the Year. Katie will represent Indiana at the National Association of Elementary School Principals National Distinguished Principal Recognition Program in the fall of 2024.