• Welcome to Community

    Only twenty miles from the heart of city living, but enjoying the benefits of suburban community, Franklin, Indiana boasts the best of both worlds. Located just south of Indianapolis’ museums, theatres, sporting venues and shopping, our city maintains a community feel centered around our revitalized downtown. Many are drawn to Franklin, the county seat of Johnson County and home of Franklin College, for its innumerable assets, including an impressive trail system, outstanding parks and recreation department, historic theatre, and expansive farmer’s market and festivals. Just off of Exit 90 on I-65, Franklin combines an appreciation of our historic roots and an innovative mind for progress to create the perfect hometown.

    Serving approximately 5100 students, FCS is one of the largest employers in the county, employing over 700 faculty and staff members who are committed to individual student growth. Franklin is the home of five elementary schools, an intermediate school, middle school, and high school.  We also host a developmental preschool and Cub Academy Preschool for children ages 3-4.

    We offer state of the art facilities, including the much sought after performing arts center, and a top-notch athletic complex.  Additionally, the Franklin Education Connection financially supports learning for our students by providing grant opportunities for teachers and mentorship programs such as Study Connection.

    Communities like Franklin don’t happen by accident.  Through innovative thinking and purposeful planning, FCS has charted a unique, yet effective course of action.  Six Sigma strategies for ensuring quality decisions cover every facet of the operation.  

    Our academic achievement levels are soaring, and we are excited to continue pursuing excellence.  Whether it is beginning college campus visits in kindergarten, finding your inner artist in the studio or on the stage, or becoming college and career ready through our Chromebook repair class at the high school, FCS remains student-centered and innovative.  FCS teachers and administrators are recognized at both the state and national levels.  School counselors in every building keep the focus on the whole child.  Living by our Guiding Principles, we have never been more excited about our journey from Good to Great!

    Creekside Elementary
    (enrollment: 575)

    Needham Elementary       
    (enrollment 399)

    Northwood Elementary 
    (enrollment 478)

    Union Elementary             
    (enrollment 161)

    Webb Elementary             
    (enrollment 303)

    Custer Baker Intermediate School
    (grades 5 & 6)
    (enrollment - 760)
    Franklin Community Middle School
    (grades 7 & 8)
    (enrollment - 756)
    Franklin Community High School
    (grades 9-12)
    (enrollment - 1667)
    998 Grizzly Cub Drive
    Franklin, IN 46131
    Phone - 317-738-5800
                 - 317-346-8000
    Fax       - 317-738-5812